About IES

IES Mission Statement
The IES seeks to improve the lighted environment by bringing together those with lighting knowledge and by translating that knowledge into actions that benefit the public.


IES Vision Statement
The IES will build upon a century of excellence to create the premier lighting community dedicated to promoting the art and science of quality lighting to its members, allied professional organizations, and the public.

Established in 1906, the IES is the recognized technical and educational authority on illumination. For over one hundred years its objective has been to communicate information on all aspects of good lighting practice to its members, to the lighting community, and to consumers through a variety of programs, publications, and services. The strength of the IES is its diversified membership: engineers, architects, designers, educators, students, contractors, distributors, utility personnel, manufacturers, and scientists, all contributing to the mission of the Society: to improve the lighted environment by bringing together those with lighting knowledge and by translating that knowledge into actions that benefit the public.

The IES is a forum for the exchange of ideas and information and a vehicle for its members’ professional development and recognition. Through its technical committees, with hundreds of qualified members from the lighting and user communities, the IES correlates research, investigations, and discussions to guide lighting experts and laypersons via research-and consensus-based lighting recommendations.

We provide an environment for sharing knowledge and ideas that advance the career paths of all our members by providing local focus, content, and direction to IES activities in our area.

We invite you to join us at our next section meeting to learn more about what we do and to tap into the knowledge and experience of our great network of local professionals. You do not need to be an IES member to attend these meetings but there are many benefits to membership. Click on the Join Now button under Become an IES Member on our homepage to learn more about membership benefits or to fill out a membership application.

Our local section is volunteer-run and we are always looking for individuals who wish to get involved. It is a great way to learn more about this area’s design community and collaborate with professionals who are interested in their profession. If you would like to become more actively involved, feel free to contact our section president or any of the officers.

IES Santa Barbara Board of Managers- you are invited!

Your participation in our IES Santa Barbara Section is important to you and to your professional society, IES.
Why serve on the IES Santa Barbara Board of Managers?

  • You learn good management practices by serving on non-profit boards such as ours — lessons that apply to your work in the private sector.
  • You will strengthen existing, and make new professional and business relationships.

Section Officers 2021-2022

  • President: Norman Russell, The Sextant Group, Inc.
  • Vice President: Steve Cooper, The Sextant Group, Inc.
  • Secretary: Andreas Hoeke, Neel Lighting and Controls
  • Treasurer: Spencer Strom, BEGA US
  • Past President: David Neel, Neel Lighting & Controls

We are a small group, averaging 40 professional members, of lighting representatives, designers, engineers, architects, contractors, and educators located on 200 miles of California’s Central Coast.

We invite you to join IES, to serve on our Board of Managers of IES Santa Barbara, and to plan our events educating the lighting design and architecture construction community of California’s Central Coast.

For membership benefits and application please visit our headquarters – Illuminating Engineering Society’s new website at https://www.ies.org

Past Presidents

  • Norman Russell (2020-2021)
  • Norman Russell (2019-2020)
  • Norman Russell (2018-2019)
  • Norman Russell (2017-2018)
  • David Neel (2016-2017)
  • David Neel (2015-2016)
  • David Neel (2014-2015)
  • Rick Miller (2013-2014)
  • Rick Miller (2012-2013)
  • Rick Miller (2011-2012)
  • Rick Miller (2010-2011)
  • Trish Odenthal (2009-2010)
  • Darren Marsan (2008-2009)
  • Trish Odenthal (2006-2007)
  • Trish Reynoso-Odenthal (2005-2006)
  • Trish Reynoso-Odenthal (2004-2005)
  • Steve Dominguez (2003-2004)
  • John Maloney (2001-2002)
  • Brian Smith (2000-2001)
  • John Maloney (1999-2000)
  • Craig Hood (1994-1995)
  • David Raber (1990-1991)
  • John Buss (1988-1989)
  • Ted Shreve (1986-1987)
  • David Raber (1984-1985)
  • Don Ely (1979-1980)
  • Kirk Leach (1978-1979)
  • William Rogers (1968-1969)
  • Ralph Callaway (1966-1967)